• March 25, 2022 (Friday)

    Venue: Auditorium

    08.30 - 09.30


    09:30 - 10.45

    Inauguration and Presidential Address
    Prof. Vinod K. Singh, IIT Kanpur, President, CRSI

    10.45 -11.15

    High Tea

    Session 1
    Charusita Chakravarty Memorial Lecture
    Chairperson: Prof. N. Sathyamurthy, IISER Mohali

    11.15 - 11:45

    Dr. Sarika M. Bhattacharyya, NCL Pune
    Role of Pair Correlation in the Dynamics: A Supercooled Liquids Perspective

    Bronze Medal Lectures
    Chairpersons: Prof. H. Ila, JNCASR Bangalore and Dr A. Chaudhary, SERB

    11.45 - 13.05

    Dr. R. Vijaya Anand, IISER Mohali (BML-1)
    Organocatalysis by Cyclopropene- and Cyclopropenium-based Small Molecules

    Prof. M. Bakthadoss, Pondicherry University (BML-2)
    Ru / Pd Catalysed C-H Bond Activation / Functionalization: An Efficient and Site Selective Approach for the Synthesis of Novel Molecular Scaffolds

    Dr. V. Sridharan, Central University of Jammu (BML-3)
    Nucleopalladation-Initiated Cascade Reactions of Alkynes

    Dr. P. Banerjee, IIT Ropar (BML-4)
    Strain Induced Versatile Reactivity of Small Ring Molecules: Cyclopropane Carbaldehyde as an Elegant and Powerful Synthetic Tool for Structurally Diverse Hetero- and Carbocycles

    13.05 - 14.00


    Poster Presentations -1 (Poster Nos. 1-133) (14.00 - 15.30)
    Co-chairpersons: Prof. V. Tandon, JNU, Prof. A. Kumar, BITS Pilani, Dr. K. Geetharani, IISc Bangalore, Dr. P. Thilagar IISc Bangalore and Dr. P. Shanmugam, CLRI Chennai

    Council Meeting
    (Only for Council Members, Venue: Board Room) (14.00 - 15.30)

    15.30 - 16.00


    Session 2
    Silver Medal Lecture
    Chairperson: Prof. Sourav Pal, IISER Kolkata

    16.00 - 16.30

    Prof. Asit K. Chakraborti, NIPER Mohali
    Sustainable Chemistry Development in Drug Discovery

    Bronze Medal Lectures
    Chair: Dr. G. N. Sastry, NEIST Jorhat and Prof. G. Mugesh, IISc Bangalore


    Prof. Sandip Paul, IIT Guwahati (BML-5)
    Inhibitory Effect of Vitamin-C on Uric Acid Self-Aggregation in the Solution Phase and Their Structural Alignment in the Solid-Liquid Interface

    Prof. Ayan Datta, IACS Kolkata (BML-6)
    Pseudo Jahn-Teller Distortions in Two-Dimensional Atomically Thin Monolayers

    Dr. U. Lourderaj, NISER Bhubaneswar (BML-7)
    Mechanisms and Dynamics of Chemical Reactions

    Dr. P. Ramu Sridhar, University of Hyderabad (BML-8)
    Rearrangement Reactions in Glycals: Novel Routes to the Synthesis of Carbon-Branched Sugars

    Prof. Debabrata Maiti, IIT Bombay (BML-9)
    En-Light-ening C-H functionalization

    19:00 - 21:00


  • March 26, 2022 (Saturday)

    Venue: Auditorium

    Session 3
    Bronze Medal Lectures
    Chairpersons: Prof. V. Chandrasekhar and Prof. K. P. Kaliappan, IIT Bombay


    9:30 - 10:50

    Prof. A. Verma, Delhi University (BML-10)
    Harnessing the Reactivity of Alkynes: Construction of Small Organic Molecules

    Prof. N. Rastogi, CDRI Lucknow (BML-11)
    Organo-Photoredox Catalysis Under Visible Light Irradiation

    Prof. D. K. Chand, IIT Madras (BML-12)
    The Art of Making Self-Assembled Conjoined-Cages

    Prof. S. Sen Gupta, IISER Kolkata (BML-13)
    O2 Activation by a Peroxidase-Mimicking Iron-Complex

    10:50 - 11:20


    Session 4
    Bronze Medal Lectures
    Chairpersons:  Prof. A. Ganguli, IIT Delhi and Prof. J. B. Baruah, IIT Guwahati

    11:20 -12:40

    Prof. R. Boomishankar, IISER Pune (BML-14)
    Molecular Ferroelectrics for Piezoelectric Energy Harvesting Applications

    Prof. R. Ramesh, Bharathidasan University (BML-15)
    Nickel Catalyzed C-N / C-C Bond Formation via HA and ADC Strategies

    Dr. R. S. Ningthoujam, BARC Mumbai (BML-16)
    Rare-earth Doped Phosphors for Light Emitting Display, Light Harvesting and Biological Applications

    Prof. S. Abraham John, Gandhigram Rural University (BML-17)
    Unusual Reactivity of Graphene Quantum Dots and Their Silver Nanoparticles Composite with Transition and Heavy Metal Ions

    13.00 - 14.00


    Poster Presentations - 2 (Poster Nos. 134-266) (14.00 - 15.30)
    Co-chairpersons: Prof. S. Muthusamy, Bharathidasan University, Prof. Swati De, University of Kalyani, Prof. N. Gupta, University of Rajasthan, Prof. Vinod K. Tiwari, BHU and R. Mayilmurugan  MKU

    15.30 - 16.00


    Session 5
    Gold Medal Lecture
    Chairperson: Prof. S. Chandrasekaran, IISc Bangalore

    16.00 - 16.50

    Prof. J. S. Yadav, Indrashil University

    Presentation of Medals and General Body Meeting

    19:00 -21:00


  • March 27, 2022 (Sunday)

    Venue: Auditorium

    Session 6
    Bioorganic Chemistry and Catalysis
    Chairperson: Prof. U. S. N. Murty, NIPER Guwahati


    09:30 - 10:10      

    Dr. S. Chatterjee, IIT Guwahati
    Development of Short Cationic Salt Tolerant, Protease Resistant and Non-Cytotoxic Amps: Experimental and Computational Approaches

    Dr. Kapileswar Seth, NIPER Guwahati
    Pd-Ag Binary Nanocluster-Catalyzed Synchronous Double C-H Activation Accessing Phenazine Scaffold

    Chairperson: Prof. A. T. Khan, IIT Guwahati


    10:10 - 10:50      

    Dr. T. K. Goswami, Gauhati University
    Metallo-Curcuminoids for Photo-Enhanced Chemotherapy

    Dr. K. K. Bania, Tezpur University
    Synthesis of Biologically Active C2 Trimerized Indoles and Isatins Using Fe(III) Catalyst

    Chairperson: Prof. B. K. Patel, IIT Guwahati

    10:50- 11:30

    Dr. P. Gogoi, NEIST Jorhat
    Aryne: Route to Ortho-Disubstituted Arenes and Heterocycles

    Dr. P. K. Kancharla, IIT Guwahati
    Organocatalysis for Glycoside Bond Formation

    Session 7
    Presentation by Industry Representatives
    Chairperson: Prof. P. Phukan, Gauhati University



    11:30 - 12:10

    Dr. M. Lal, Syngenta Biosciences Pvt. Ltd., Goa
    Sustainable Transition Metal Catalysis for Synthesis of Agrochemicals: Process Development for Synthesis Aryl Diones with Novel Properties

    Dr. D. J. Kalita, Indian Oil Limited, Duliajan
    A Brief Account of Oil India Limited and Role of Chemistry in E &P Industry

    CRSI-ACS Best Poster Awards (12:10 – 12:15)
    Representative from ACS and Chairperson of Jury Poster Sessions: Prof. G. Sekar, IIT Madras

    Concluding Remarks (12:15 – 12:20)
    Prof. Vinod K. Singh, President, CRSI

    Vote of Thanks (12:20-12:25)
    Dr. T. Govindaraju, JNCASR Bangalore, Secretary, CRSI
    Dr. U. Manna/Dr. Akshai Kumar A. S., Co-Convener, CRSI-NSC-28

    12:30 -14:00

    Lunch and Departure